T20 World Cup 2014
The advent of T20 cricket format on the international platform took place when International Cricket Council materialised ICC T20 Cricket World Cup for the first time in 2007. It has been four editions of ICC T20 World Cup since India lifted the inaugural World Cup under the majestic captaincy of M S Dhoni. T20 cricket brought new breed of aggression on cricketing field and won cricket admirers in young crowd preferring fast paced sporting activities. Now, the cricketing world and cricket followers from all the quarters of the world are staring at the fifth edition of ICC T20 World Cup. This fifth edition, T20 World Cup 2014, would be hosted by Bangladesh. The time period of 16 March to 6 April 2014 has been set aside for the tournament.

ICC T20 World Cup has brought up surprises through its winners and the format of the game is such that dominance over the tournament seems improbable. This is evident from the fact that all the four T20 World Cup tournaments held in the past have seen different winners; with almost every participating team in the imminent edition standing a chance to make it big in the tournament. India won the inaugural edition hosted in South Africa against Pakistan in 2007; while the runners up of the first ICC T20 World Cup, Pakistan, made opportunity to reach the title in 2009 in England. The 2010 ICC T20 World Cup, hosted in West Indies, saw England win first ICC title in the history of the game. The last ICC T20 World Cup took place in 2012 hosted by Sri Lanka saw the resurgence of West Indies to the Champions’ podium.

The T20 World Cup 2014 would be hosted once again by an Asian country after Sri Lanka hosted its previous edition. This time it is in Bangladesh. Four cities of Bangladesh, namely, Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet and Cox’s Bazar, have been shortlisted to see teams battle it out on cricketing fields to reach the Champion’s Title. For the first time in ICC T20 World Cup, as many as 16 teams would be competing to reach the coveted cup.

Out of these 16 teams, 10 teams are the full members of the ICC and would receive qualification for the tournament by default. The remaining 6 teams would be decided on the basis of the outcome of 2013 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier tournament to be played in UAE.
This site is not affiliated or associated with ICC in any manner.
Join Facebook