Team list
The kind of success which the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup of 2007 was met with ensured that there would be more such events to take place in the following years. Sure enough, the event became a biennial ICC occurrence. The fifth ICC T20 World Cup would be taking place in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6 2014. This edition would see 16 t20 teams competing for the title, the most until now. The qualification of the 16 teams has been sketched out by the International Cricket Council.

The 10 full member ICC teams of Australia, England, South Africa, India, New Zealand, West Indies, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh (host) would get a direct entry into the tournament and are sparred of going through any qualifying event. The remaining 6 names to fill up the list of teams in t20 world cup 2014 would be decided by a qualifying event. This qualifying event, 2013 ICC World T20 Qualifiers hosted by UAE, would see Italy, Denmark, Netherlands, Scotland and Ireland from Europe; Nepal, Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates (host) and Afghanistan from Asia; United States, Canada and Bermuda from American continent; Uganda, Kenya and Namibia from Africa; and Papua New Guinea from East Asia Pacific region, compete for the top 6 spots in the tournament.

Sri Lanka, Pakistan and India are currently holding the top three positions in the ICC T20 rankings and hence are the strongest contenders for the title, given than they play in sub continental conditions home to them. West Indies, the defending champions, and South Africa, reigning Test Champions, close up further spots in the top t20 team list. The brisk and quick swinging nature of T20 format gives a real chance to every team on a given day to swing consequences in their favour.

Sr.No. Team Captain Coach
1 Afghanistan Mohammad Nabi Kabir Khan
2 Australia George Bailey Darren Lehmann
3 Bangladesh Mushfiqur Rahim Shane Jurgensen
4 England Stuart Broad Ashley Giles
5 Hong Kong Jamie Atkinson Charlie Burke
6 India MS Dhoni Duncan Fletcher
7 Ireland William Porterfield Phil Simmons
8 Nepal Paras Khadka Pubudu Dassanayake
9 Netherlands Peter Borren Peter Drinnen
10 New Zealand Brendon McCullum Mike Hesson
11 Pakistan Mohammad Hafeez Moin Khan
12 South Africa Faf du Plessis Russell Domingo
13 Sri Lanka Dinesh Chandimal Paul Farbrace
14 United Arab Emirates Khurram Khan Aaqib Javed
15 West Indies Darren Sammy Ottis Gibson
16 Zimbabwe Brendan Taylor Andy Waller
This site is not affiliated or associated with ICC in any manner.
Join Facebook